The Springheel Saga


An epic, multi-series radio drama spanning the life of one man in Victorian London – police officer Jonah Smith – and a demonic monster he’s sworn to capture, known only as Springheel Jack…

The Springheel Saga, Series One:

London, 1837. A terrifying apparition stalks the night! Constable Jonah Smith must avoid a pair of vicious killers in his hunt for the mysterious figure who will come to be known as… Springheel Jack!

The Springheel Saga, Series Two:

Folly Ditch, 1845. When a fire-breathing maniac kills 13-year-old Maria Davis, Springheel Jack is blamed. Detective Inspector Jonah Smith is hot on the trail but soon finds himself accused of an equally terrible crime…

Featuring: Christopher Finney, Jessica Dennis, Matthew Jure, Jon Holden White, Andrew Shepherd, Josephine Timmins, with David Benson, Jeremy Stockwell, Nicholas Parsons and Julian Glover…



  • Co-writer/Producer: Gareth Parker (Jack Bowman)
  • Co-writer/Director: Robert Valentine
  • Producer: Mariele Runacre Temple
  • Art Design: Jamie Egerton
  • Sound Design: Andrew Swann, Benjamin Osborn
  • Creature Design: Richard Lightman
  • Title Music: Francesco Quadraruopolo


Find Out More