Quick Facts



The Geekie Awards® is an award show by geeks for geeks™, celebrating geek-genre content, art, games, fashion and more from all over the world.

In an industry filled with award shows for established celebrities, we honor talented, up-and-coming indie creators and give them the opportunity to receive recognition in front of a worldwide audience and leaders in their respective industries. Through The Geekies, creators get the publicity and media outreach needed to foster future success. The 2013-2015 shows garnered nearly 3 billion collective media impressions around the world.

#GeekieAwards   #ByGeeksForGeeks




The Geekie Awards are currently closed for the season, prepping for our next show. Some of you have asked when submissions will be open again. We’re in the process of making the show bigger and better, and that takes time. We are hoping to open submissions in early 2017.

Get updates by subscribing to our newsletter HERE.




Creators enter their own work via submissions. Along with every entry comes the opportunity to post your work on our website. It’s our mission to get every creator’s work seen, regardless of a nomination or win.




A panel of expert judges score every single entry via a private system. Judges are divided into categories, and they must be experts in their respective industries. Judges are not allowed to work with one another during the scoring process to avoid swaying decisions or choosing favorites. Judges are also not allowed to enter in any category they are judging.

Once the judges choose nominees per category, the public will vote to choose winners. Nominees will be able to promote their work for public votes. Public voting is a geek community request, enabling our show to truly become “by geeks for geeks!”




Trophies are presented to indie winners during the live ceremony for the best entry in each category. See 2015 winners.

Industry awards are presented to idols and innovators who inspire geeks in the various industries we love. Past recipients include: Stan Lee (2013 Lifetime Achievement), Kevin Smith (2015 Geek Pioneer), Gale Anne Hurd (2014 Stan Lee Lifetime Achievement), Michael C Gross (2015 Stan Lee Lifetime Achievement), LeVar Burton (2014 Geek of the Year), Oculus VR (2014 Geek Cred), Nathan Fillion (2012 Geek of the Year) and NASA / JPL Mars Curiosity Rover (2013 Geek Cred).

See more about the Awards Ceremony here.




The Geekie Awards was established after Content Creator, Producer, Host and Geek Gal Kristen Nedopak became frustrated that there was not a single Hollywood award show dedicated to geeks, inclusive of all of the genres and industries we love. She began working on the concept in early 2010. The inaugural event happened on August 18th, 2013 in Hollywood, CA. Read more about The Geekie Awards.